On Motivation and Struggles

Motivation. This is a word I’ve been struggling with a lot lately. The will to follow through is something that can be difficult at times. This summer, when I got very busy with work and every moment spent off work was precious, I got used to not following through with my self-made commitments. I let my Bookstagram fall to the side – I had been getting discouraged on there anyway with the change of algorithm even though I really did enjoy being on there. I had said a long time ago I would try to post consistently on this blog, but I was barely even reading over the summer, so what did I have to post about? And of course, there’s my work-in-progress novel that I’ve barely touched since I typed the final words last November.

I make excuses for myself. I tell myself, because of this, I can’t do this. But really, the only reason for why I choose to stop doing things and vanish into thin air. I don’t have a good reason for why I don’t do the things that I love other than I let other things eat up all my time. Writing and reading aren’t hobbies that I can do at the same time as watching Netflix (for me anyway), so I simply don’t do them. And I come to regret this later and become overwhelmed because how could I ever do any of this? Why would anyone want to hear my words?

What I constantly need to remind myself is that I’m not doing this for other people. I’m doing this for myself. This is something I’m interested in doing, so why is it so difficult? Why do I still let the desire to please others define me?

Starting from here on out, I hope to make a schedule that I can adhere to for the most part. This isn’t about people reading my blog; it’s accomplishing something for myself. Even if it’s just a short book recommendation, I want to have something that will push me toward my goals. Even if it’s scary, I need to keep taking those steps forward. I’ve been in a sort of stagnant place lately in my real life and I need a change. I need to remind myself that I can do it if I set my mind to it, no matter what it is.

I have some ideas for what I want to put on this blog. Right now I’m hoping to put up two posts a week and hopefully do a book review either once a week or every other week. If anyone has ideas for any posts they’d like to see me do, feel free to comment. Thank you for taking the time to read this and I hope that you’ll join me again on this journey. ❤

Leave a comment